在英国有数量繁多的英语语言学校和语言中心。 大多数网站会告诉你全英有400多所语言学校。但是,哪一所才是最好的呢?而且, 如何才能了解这些情况呢?为了找出答案, 让我们一起去看看 EL Gazette.

2019年英国10佳英语语言学校

回答这个问题并不容易。事实上英格兰排名前十的学校要么联合排名第一要么联合排名第二。 多数情况下, 这取决于你要选择上什么类型的课程:你是想上考试辅导课程还是想为10的孩子选择夏令营课程?深入了解一下吧。

  • LSI Portsmouth
  • LSI Portsmouth 是一所大型的专业从事向成人(18岁及以上)全年提供语言培训课程。各种不同类型的语言课程包括: 全日制基础英语 30+, 全日制雅思准备, 剑桥考试准备, OET 准备课程, 商务英语课程, 专业英语课程大学预备课程。 55间教室分布在8层的教学楼内。

  • Wimbledon School of English
  • 温布尔登英语学校是英国最早的语言学校之一, 于1964年开始对外授课。学校有21间教室, 为青少年和成人提供不同的语言课程, 包括基础英语, 考试辅导课程和医学英语课程。

  • Summer Boarding Courses, Shipley
  • SBC是一所暑期寄宿学校,招收8到17岁的学生。 SBC成立于2008年夏季, 参加课程的学生目前还可以参加如下学校的课程 Eton College, Headington Oxford, Oxford, Oxford CollegeCanford.

  • ELC Bristol
  • ELC布里斯托位于英格兰的西南部, 2栋教学楼共有18间教室。它接收16岁的学生, 提供基础英语,考试辅导和英语加戏剧以及英语加音乐剧!

    下面的6所学校在10分满分得分9.47, 并列排名第二, 详细参阅 EL Gazette

  • Bell International, Cambridge
  • 战后弗兰克贝尔于1955年在剑桥成立了贝尔。用其独创的贝尔教学法进行英语教学。在1972年贝尔教育信托基金成立, 2012年贝尔基金会正式成立(一家旨在帮助生活在英国的弱势儿童的慈善机构)。

  • Discovery Summer, London
  • 发现夏季是一家家族企业, 成立于2002年。 课程针对儿童(从5岁起),青少年和家庭。课程贯穿整个夏季,包括各种不同的活动内容, 如骑马、跳舞甚至是击剑。

  • English in Chester
  • 位于英格兰北部的切斯特, 威尔士边境, 一栋有230多年历史的建筑。切斯特的英语是切斯特的第一所英国议会认可的学校。它提供了从普通英语到考试准备的各种课程。

  • IH London
  • 1953年John和Brita Haycraft创立了IH London。其宗旨是通过语言学习促进国际间的理解。出了各种语言课程外, IH London还提供CELTA 和DELTA培训。

  • Lake School of English, Oxford
  • 牛津大湖英语学校为16岁的学生提供基础英语课程和考试辅导课程。 学校已经运营了40年, 坐落于牛津市中心, 距离城市公园和花园只有几步之遥。

  • Norwich Inst for Language Education (NILE)
  • NILE专门从事教师资格培训, 提供CELTA、DELTA和硕士课程。 学校甚至还有一个课程专门教授老师如何讲故事。NILE位于英格兰东北部的中世纪城市诺里奇。

但哪所英语语言学校是最好的呢?

凭借优异的评比分数, 前4强学校获得了并列排名第一, 参阅 EL Gazette.

机构 得分 排名
LSI Portsmouth 10/10 排名第1
Wimbledon School of English 10/10 排名第1
Summer Boarding Courses, Shipley 10/10 排名第1
ELC Bristol 10/10 排名第1
Bell International, Cambridge 9.47/10 排名第2
Discovery Summer, London 9.47/10 排名第2
English in Chester 9.47/10 排名第2
IH London 9.47/10 排名第2
Lake School of English, Oxford 9.47/10 排名第2
Norwich Inst for Language Education (NILE) 9.47/10 排名第2

Next step…

Are you interested in studying on a General English course at LSI Portsmouth?

Are you interested in IELTS preparation?

Want to know more about us?

English language teacher working for the best English language school

你如何决定哪所英语语言学校是最好的?

EL Gazette 中发现你的答案。EL Gazette报告全球最受英语教学专业人士关注并最具权威性的刊物。EL Gazette在全球160个国家发行, 每月发出1500册印刷品, 同时也提供电子版。根据他们的网站统计, 他们的电子版刊物的阅读数量在2018年高达50,000。

每年他们都会公布一份公正、客观的英国最佳学校名单。名单是根据作为英国认证计划的一部分, 由英国文化委员会出具的检查报告声明做出的。检查报告声明是公开的, 可点击详细了解 这里.

什么是英国认证?

英国认证是英语课程提供商的质量保证计划。该方案由 British CouncilEnglish UK 共同开发, 目的是给予赴英学习或计划赴英学习的国际学生一个学习的质量保证。

为了获得认证, 语言中心必须经过被广泛认为是业界最严格的检查程序。 检查包括对五个领域的评估, 这五个领域被划分为14个不同的标准:

“an

  • 教学
  • 课程设计
  • 对学生的关怀
  • 住宿
  • 房舍和设施
  • 休闲机会
  • 员工管理
  • 学生管理
  • 战略和质量管理
  • 宣传
  • 学习资源
  • 学术人员简介
  • 学术管理
  • 学习者管理

提供少年课程的学校还要接受第15项考核:管理18岁以下学生。每一项标准, 检查人员都有3条判断依据:达标、未达标、强项。如果语言中心在同一领域里有2项或2项以上被判为未达标, 通常他们就需要在这一领域加以改进。

那么, EL Gazette是如何对学校进行排名呢?

EL Gazette从每所学校的强项总分中减去哪些需要改进的方面来计算学校的最终得分。 例如, 一个学校有6个领域强项和1个需要改进领域, 它的最终得分是5。整体而言,英国的语言学校在整个体系中的平均分数为4/15。顶级的学校都有完美的得分14/14或者15/15。为了更为公正, 所有得分均被转换成百分数。

LSI 朴茨茅斯是如何获得完美的分数的?

让我们深入这14项评分标准, 看看LSI朴茨茅斯是如何每一项都有一个完美的得分。

  • 教学
  • “LSI

    LSI朴茨茅斯在这一类别中取得了优异的成绩, 是因为我们的课程有良好的互动, 精心的规划和出色的管理。 老师在课堂给予学生良好的解答和范例, 并采用各种教学技巧来满足学生需求。 在小组讨论中学生们一致对我们优秀的老师表示感谢。查看我们的课程 全日制基础英语 30+, 全日制雅思准备, 剑桥考试准备, OET 准备课程, 商务英语课程, 专业英语课程大学预备课程.

  • 课程设计
  • “lsi

    我们的课程结构非常清晰, 极大满足了学生的兴趣和需求。 检察人员注意到了我们努力确保学生能够制定独立的学习计划以便于他们即使离开我们也能持续学习和进步!他们还特意点评了我们为学生提供的一系列课堂外学习机会, 包括与 商务英语课程30+ 学生一起午餐组织班级集体参观当地的名胜古迹, 鼓励学生加入我们的谈话俱乐部和工作俱乐部。

  • 对学生的关怀
  • “LSI

    检查人员发现LSI朴茨茅斯非常重视学生的安全,”LSI朴茨茅斯对学生的关心和关爱超乎寻常”。我们有一个优秀的学生后勤保障团队, 他们倾听学生的任何问题,并帮助他们解决。不论问题的大小, 总是有人随时帮助学生处理任何问题。

  • 住宿
  • “LSI

    LSI朴茨茅斯有非常好的住宿设施, 学生对此的满意度很高。为了确保符合高标准要求,我们对所有的住宿进行检查, 我们非常善于发现问题并解决问题。我们向住宿提供者提供全面和有益的书面信息和建议。点击查看我们的 住宿选择!

  • 房舍和设施
  • “Girl

    在检查中我们发现LSI朴茨茅斯的整座大楼都维护良好,干净而舒适,有专业整洁的教室和设施完备的公共区域, 特别是学生自娱大厅, 学生既可以在此喝咖啡小憩聊天, 也可以打打台球放松娱乐一下。

  • 休闲机会
  • “

    检查人员对我们为学生安排的一系列课外活动极为赞赏 ---从我们为学生提供有关当地活动的信息和独自外出旅行所需信息到我们为学生准备的非常丰富的课外活动。我们的课外活动几乎涵盖了日常的每一天, 周末还有外出旅行活动。点击查看我们的 课外活动!

  • 员工管理
  • “the

    LSI朴茨茅斯在众多领域都是强项。这是因为我们的员工都有明确的职责划分, 我们的员工都是精心挑选入职,经过精细的岗位培训和定期的全面职能评估, 并有持续的职业培训和发展计划。

  • 学生管理
  • “LSI

    检查人员发现“学生对于工作人员在客户服务的各个方面的专业性和灵活度都有很高的满意度”。他们了解到我们为了满足学生的需求会在课程前和课程后持续与他们沟通, 我们致力于为学生提供更贴心更个人化的服务。而且检查人员感觉到学校始终把学生满意度放在非常重要的位置。

  • 战略和质量管理
  • “Emma

    LSI朴茨茅斯有一个非常明确的使命宣言,”成为我们能成为的最好的英语语言学校, 力求在每一个方面给予我们的学生最好的体验。尽我们所能做到最好”。检查人员发现, LSI朴茨茅斯的所有员工对此都有极大的认同感并致力于此, 这清晰地反映在学校的各个方面。
    而且, LSI朴茨茅斯有充足的工作人员及良好的组织架构和沟通渠道,这确保了我们在全年任何时候都可以顺利运行并为学生提供优质的服务。

  • 宣传
  • “

    检查发现我们所有的宣传材料都是准确和详实的,可以让准备来LSI朴茨茅斯学习的学生对学校有清晰准确的了解。

  • 学习资源
  • “

    无论从哪个方面考量我们的学习资源都被认为是优异的。我们的教师可以获取数量庞大的高质量最新的教学资料, 我们有设备完善的教室(多数教室都配有互动式白板),我们还为学生提供了完备的学习中心可供学生在课余时间使用。

  • 学术人员简介
  • “lsi

    LSI朴茨茅斯在这一领域表现出色是因为我们有出色的教师团队, 近乎一半的老师持有最高等级的英语教学资格证书。检查人员认为我们的教师”具有与所授课程相符合的广泛的教学专业知识和教学经验”, 并且LSI朴茨茅斯为所有的教师提供全面的培训和课前准备以确保老师高效地教授课程。
    LSI朴茨茅斯的教研主任的丰富经验和资格受到了检查人员的高度认同。

  • 学术管理
  • “Girl

    检查人员认为LSI朴茨茅斯拥有非常高效地管理体系, LSI朴茨茅斯的四位教学总监为教师提供了出色的支持和培训包括定期课堂观察, 帮助教师改善和提升以确保对学生的教学质量。

  • 学习者管理
  • “lsi

    LSI朴茨茅斯在这一领域表现优异。因为我们一直致力于了解学生的需求并正确地加以解决。我们密切关注学生的进步和变化并且在必要的时候我们提供额外的帮助和支持。

想了解更多关于我们的信息?

To find out more about who we are, check out our YouTube 频道, 推特, 博客, 照片墙脸书.如果您有任何问题, 请与我们联系!我们很乐意与您交谈, 并告诉您更多关于为什么 LSI 朴茨茅斯是如此可爱的学校!联系: [email protected].

你知道吗?

我们的班级最多12人,大大少于英国的平均水平14人或16人

我们的课程强度(22.5小时每周)高于大多数英国学校的课程强度。

点击这里了解更多!

There is a huge number of English Language schools and centres in the UK. Most websites will tell you there are over 400 schools! However, which one is the best? Moreover, how do you know? To find out, we are going to look at the top-ranked schools according to the EL Gazette.

Top 10 Best English Language Schools in England 2019

This is not an easy question to answer! In fact, the top 10 schools in England are either ranked joint number 1 or joint number 2. In any event, it depends what type of courses you are looking for: Do you want exam preparation or a summer camp for a 10-year-old? Let’s take a closer look!

  • LSI Portsmouth
  • LSI Portsmouth is a friendly, large, year-round English Language School specialising in language courses for adults (aged 18 and over). It offers a huge variety of different courses such as: Full-time General English and 30+, IELTS Preparation, Cambridge Exam Preparation, OET Preparation, Business English, Specialist English, and University Preparation. It has 55 classrooms over 8 floors.

  • Wimbledon School of English
  • Wimbledon school of English is among the oldest English language schools in the UK, first opening its doors in 1964. The school has 21 classrooms on three floors and offers a wide variety of different courses for juniors and adults from General English to Exam Preparation to Medical English Courses.

  • Summer Boarding Courses, Shipley
  • SBC is a residential summer school, which takes students between the ages of 8 and 17 years old. SBC was first established in the summer of 2008 and students who enrol can currently look at taking courses at Eton College, Headington Oxford, Oxford, Oxford College, and Canford.

  • ELC Bristol
  • ELC Bristol is located in the South West of England, with 18 classrooms between 2 buildings. It takes students from the age of 16 and offers General English, Exam Preparation, and even English plus Drama and English for the musical theatre!

    With scores of 9.47 out of 10, the next 6 schools are all ranked joint no.2, according to EL Gazette

  • Bell International, Cambridge
  • Established in 1955 by Frank Bell after the war, Bell is located in Cambridge. The teaching approach used is the self-created ‘The Bell Way’. In 1972, the Bell Educational Trust was founded, and the Bell foundation in 2012 (A charity aimed at helping disadvantaged children living in the UK).

  • Discovery Summer, London
  • Discovery Summer is a family-run business, established in 2002. The courses are aimed at younger learners: children (from as young as 5), teenagers, and families. The courses run through the summer and can include a variety of activities such as horse riding, dancing, or even fencing!

  • English in Chester
  • Located in Chester, in the North of England, on the Welsh border, in a building which is over 230 years old. English in Chester was the first British council accredited school in Chester. It offers a variety of courses from General English to Exam preparation.

  • IH London
  • Established in 1953 by John and Brita Haycraft, IH London was founded on the notion that international understanding could be promoted through language learning. In addition to a variety of English language courses, IH London offers CELTA and DELTA training.

  • Lake School of English, Oxford
  • Lake School of English, Oxford offers General English and Exam Preparation to students from the age of 16. The school has been running for 40 years and can be found in the heart of Oxford a short walk from the parks and gardens of the city.

  • Norwich Inst for Language Education (NILE)
  • NILE specialises in teacher training qualifications, offering CELTA, DELTA, and an MA Programme. The school even has a course on Story and Storytelling for Language Teachers! NILE is located in the medieval city of Norwich, in the North-East of England.

But which English Language School is the best?

With perfect scores, the top 4 schools are all ranked joint no.1, according to EL Gazette.

Institution Score Rank
LSI Portsmouth 10/10 Joint No.1
Wimbledon School of English 10/10 Joint No.1
Summer Boarding Courses, Shipley 10/10 Joint No.1
ELC Bristol 10/10 Joint No.1
Bell International, Cambridge 9.47/10 Joint No.2
Discovery Summer, London 9.47/10 Joint No.2
English in Chester 9.47/10 Joint No.2
IH London 9.47/10 Joint No.2
Lake School of English, Oxford 9.47/10 Joint No.2
Norwich Inst for Language Education (NILE) 9.47/10 Joint No.2

How do you decide which English Language School is the Best?

The EL Gazette is a good place to start! The EL Gazette is one of the most respected magazines in the world for English language teaching professionals. It is available in 160 countries, prints 1500 copies a month, as well as being available in digital format. According to their website, their digital edition had a whopping readership of 50,000 in 2018!

Every year they publish a fair and impartial list of the best schools in the UK based on the summary statements from British Council inspection reports as part of the Accreditation UK scheme. These statements are publicly available and can be accessed here.

What is Accreditation UK?

Accreditation UK is a quality assurance scheme for English language course providers. The scheme is run by the British Council together with English UK and it aims to give assurance of quality to international students who are studying or plan to study English in the UK.

In order to be accredited by the scheme, language centres must undergo a rigorous inspection process, widely regarded as the toughest in the industry. The inspection includes an assessment of five areas which are broken down into fourteen different criteria:

“an

  • Teaching
  • Course Design
  • Care of Students
  • Accommodation
  • Premises and Facilities
  • Leisure Opportunities
  • Staff Management
  • Student Administration
  • Strategic and Quality Management
  • Publicity
  • Learning Resources
  • Academic Staff Profile
  • Academic Management
  • Learner Management

Schools which accept juniors are also inspected on a fifteenth criterion: care of under 18s. For each criterion, the inspectors give one of three judgements: met, not met or strength. If a centre has two or more criteria which are “not met” within an area, they will normally be judged as needing improvement in that area.

So how does the EL Gazette rank schools?

The EL Gazette uses this information to calculate each school’s score by subtracting the number of areas which need improvement from the total number of strengths. So, for example, if a school had 6 areas of strength and 1 area which needed improvement, their final score would be 5. The average score for schools in the scheme is 4 out of 15. The top schools in the country all scored a perfect 14 out of 14 or 15 out of 15. To make it fair, this score is then converted into a percentage.

How did LSI Portsmouth get a perfect score?

Let’s go through the fourteen criteria and look at why LSI Portsmouth got a perfect score for each one.

  • Teaching
  • “LSI

    LSI Portsmouth had good results in this category because our lessons were found to be engaging, well-planned and well-managed. Teachers provided good explanations and examples to students, and used a variety of teaching techniques in order to meet students’ needs. During focus group meetings, our students all said how much they appreciated our great teachers. Check out our Full-time General English and 30+, IELTS Preparation, Cambridge Exam Preparation, OET Preparation, Business English, Specialist English, and University Preparation.

  • Course Design
  • “lsi

    Our courses were found to be clearly-structured and well-suited to our students’ needs and interests. The inspectors also noted that we try hard to make sure our students also develop independent study strategies to make sure that they can continue to learn and improve even after they leave us! They also commented on the range of learning opportunities that we provide for students outside of the classroom including accompanied lunch for our Business English and 30+ students, structured class visits to local places of interest, and our conversation club and job club.

  • Care of Students
  • “LSI

    The inspectors found that LSI Portsmouth looked after our students’ safety and security well, with “an admirable level of care and concern for students”. We have an excellent student welfare team who are here to listen to any student problems and help with any student issues. There is always someone available to deal with any student concern, no matter how big or small!

  • Accommodation
  • “LSI

    LSI Portsmouth was found to have excellent accommodation facilities with high levels of student satisfaction in this area. It was noted that we inspect all our accommodation to make sure it meets high standards, we are good at identifying any problems and resolving them and our providers are given written information and advice which is comprehensive and helpful. Check out our accommodation options!

  • Premises and Facilities
  • “Girl

    During our inspection, LSI Portsmouth was noted to have well-maintained, clean and comfortable premises with professional and pleasant classrooms, attractive and well-furnished common areas including an “extremely attractive” student lounge where students can grab a coffee or socialise and play pool, and a range of affordable nearby eating options.

  • Leisure Opportunities
  • “

    The inspectors appreciated the range of leisure activities we provide for our students – from telling them about interesting activities happening in the local area, to helping them with independent travel to our “very full” social programme which includes activities almost every day and an excursion at the weekend. Check out our full social programme!

  • Staff Management
  • “the

    LSI Portsmouth was judged to have many areas of strength here. This is because all of our staff have clear responsibilities, are recruited with care, are guided by excellent human resources policies, are given regular and thorough appraisals and are engaged in a strong tradition of continuous professional development.

  • Student Administration
  • “LSI

    The inspectors found “a high level of student satisfaction with the professional and flexible attitude of staff in terms of customer service in all areas”. They appreciated the fact that we liaise with students both before and after their courses to make sure their needs are met and that we strive to offer a personal and individual service to our students. Furthermore, inspectors could see that “students’ satisfaction with the school is viewed as important”.

  • Strategic and Quality Management
  • “Emma

    LSI Portsmouth has a clear and meaningful mission statement which is “to be the best English language school we can be and to give our students the best experience they can have in every aspect of their stay while they are at LSI. We strive to be the best in all we do”. The inspectors found that all LSI Portsmouth staff were committed to this and it was evident in every aspect of the school.
    In addition, LSI Portsmouth was found to be well-staffed and well-organised with good channels of communication all of which ensures that everything runs smoothly for our students at all times of the year.

  • Publicity
  • “

    The inspection found that all of our publicity materials are accurate and informative and ensure that we give prospective students a clear idea of what our school is really like.

  • Learning Resources
  • “

    Our learning resources were judged to be excellent with points of strength awarded in every category. This is because teachers have access to a huge variety of high-quality up-to-date materials, we have well-equipped classrooms (many of which have interactive whiteboards), and we have well-organised fully-staffed study centres for students to use after school to continue their learning if they want to.

  • Academic Staff Profile
  • “lsi

    LSI Portsmouth performed well in this category because we have a great team of well-qualified teachers, with almost half holding the highest English language teaching qualification possible. The inspectors found our teaching team to have a “very good range of teaching expertise and experience which is relevant to the range of courses and levels taught” and noted that we offer thorough training and preparation to all of our teachers to make sure they are equipped to teach effectively on all of our courses.
    They also recognised that our academic managers are all highly-experienced and highly-qualified.

  • Academic Management
  • “Girl

    The inspectors found LSI Portsmouth to have effective management systems whereby our four Directors of Studies offered teachers excellent support and training including regular lesson observations, helping teachers to develop and improve and assuring quality and great performance for students.

  • Learner Management
  • “lsi

    LSI Portsmouth performed extremely well in this category because it was clear that we strive to really understand our students’ needs and we take care to place our students correctly. We also make sure we monitor our students’ progress closely and we provide additional support when necessary.

Want to learn more about us?

To find out more about who we are, check out our YouTube Channel, Twitter feed, Blog, Instagram and Facebook page. If you have any questions, get in touch with us! We’d love to talk to you and tell you more about why LSI Portsmouth is such a lovely school! Contact: [email protected].

Did you know?

Our maximum class size of 12 is smaller than the UK Average – 14 or even 16 students.

Our courses are more intensive (22.5 hours per week) than most UK schools.

Click here to find out more!